Surviving as a non-pork eater in Ireland (VI)

IMG_3939 (1)

I don’t know. Thursday definitely isn’t the cook’s most beloved day of the week. I assume he secretly calls it: „throw-all-leftovers-together-and-call-it-the-vegetarian-dish-day.“ Today he went for: Vegetable tartlets with potatoes and vegetables. Uff. The vegetable itself was extremely watery and without any taste at all. Okay. We’re used to this. But the vegetable tartlets were worse. Their filling: carrots, goat cheese and their glorious highlight: pickled beans. Whoever puts pickled beans into a vegetable tartlet? I am not quite sure why pickled beans exist anyway. But I am just not getting it. Pickled beans. The tartlet itself: watery. Maybe the cook is lovesick and cries into the pots and pans? Who knows? The potatoes: let’s keep silent. They look like potatoes but were soft as butter. But after the pickled beans I am absolutely unable to wail about the common Irish tendency to cook the last inch of life out of vegetables. I mean: pickled beans. I always knew that surviving as a non-pork eater in Ireland would be a challenge but today was just a little bit too much. Pickled beans.

What? Vegetable tartlets with vegetable and potatoes.

Where? The Buttery, Trinity College Dublin, Ireland

How much? 5 Euro

Survived? Well, I honestly can’t answer this.

Ein Gedanke zu “Surviving as a non-pork eater in Ireland (VI)

  1. I’m so happy to see a wee bit of humor creeping back into your writing with „Well, I honestly can’t answer this,“ and the repetition of pickled beans. Really, I think your photography is too good; it actually makes the food look delicious. Or maybe I’m just hungry.

Kommentar verfassen

