12 of 12, A day in pictures,Berlin

IMG_3829

The day starts with a beetroot massacre. I started making juice years ago and unfortunately I am not free of missionary tendencies to spread the word or the juice…Viva La Raw-olution….

IMG_3832

The result: beetroot-apple-carrot-orange-lemon-juice. A glass for me and a bottle for a friend of mine who is in the hospital. It hurts to see how he fights with every tiny sip, but better as hospital food. That’s what I hope at least. IMG_3834

PhD status: Sigh.

IMG_3835

I know it is insane, but I have a crush on coffee yogurt. Not every type of coffee yogurt, just this one. I know. I know.

IMG_3837

Nay. It is too wet and too cold- But to have a communal garden in the neighborhood is fantastic.

IMG_3841

When the neighborhood was founded around 1900, many Jewish families built houses here. The houses are big and splendid ones and they were meant not only for a lifetime but for many generations. But it was all over in less than one generation. Still, the same old sadness creeps across my neck, when I look at the names and places and all the stories and lives forever untold.

IMG_3842

Hey, grey afternoon how are you doing? Happy,or sad or just grey? IMG_3843

Your hands were so fragile and I found so hard to believe that these hands could create such fragile sculpture. I still see you in the silence of your home, the emptiness of the place, even the Kibbuz was far way and for a while I believed the world outside had ceased to exist. But then the day came, when you wanted me and my sadness to disappear. I left. Whenever I look at your sculpture I wonder if I left you like this.

IMG_3844

I don’t have a piano in Ireland. I miss it badly. Today, just to warm up my fingers: Bela Bartok.

IMG_3846

Tomorrow I fly back to my tiny village. I don’t like packing. I am always nervous to forget something. Scarf. Purse I and Purse II. Passport. Leap Card and where are the keys?

IMG_3848.JPG

An apple a day keeps the doctor away. I am very much an apple person. I like them rather sour than sweet and prefer those who are crisp to those having too soft flesh. These are an old sort, you won’t be able to buy in a supermarket. Their scent alone is delicious.

IMG_3849

I love Jonathan Coe. He is just hilarious. Satire at its very best. I highly recommend all his books. But „What a Carve Up!“ I recommend wholeheartedly.

More days and more pictures you will find at  „Draußen nur Kännchen“

Kommentar verfassen

