Surviving as a non-pork eater in Ireland (I)

IMG_3764

Surviving as a non-pork eater in Ireland is not that easy. The Irish love pork. It truly is everywhere. Here I discovered for the first time that such things as a combined Chicken-Pork-Sandwich really does exist in reality. I wouldn’t be surprised either if there existed such things as chocolate-pork-cookies or pork-flavoured ice-cream. You easily see: the stakes for a convinced non-pork eater are high. So enter the glamorous world of Read On’s attempts to keep up the spirits while not touching pork. ( My grandmother by the way even ate liver sausage in front of a rabbi visiting her). Well, I won’t. Today’s survival ration: Red Thai Vegetable Curry with rice. The vegetables I was able to uncover were: celery ( an all-Irish classic, eggplant, red peppers, onions, green peppers and maybe a mushroom, but I am not too sure of that.) The rice was okay, but Mrs Rajasthani would smack me with a soup ladle if I would say this in front of her. No I know, it has nothing to do with curry, however it was not the worst thing ever I had in the canteen. I know how it looks. I know. I really do know.

What? Red Thai Vegetable Curry with Rice

Where? The Buttery, Trinity College Dublin, Ireland

How much? 4 Euro

Survived? Yep.

 

2 Gedanken zu “Surviving as a non-pork eater in Ireland (I)

  1. So lang die armen Schweine nicht allzu arm waren und so was wie ein Leben vor dem Tod hatten, seh ich das eher locker. Was mich, der ich es in diesem Leben nicht schaffen dürfte, Vegetarier zu werden, wirklich anwidert, ist die Art und Weise wie wir mit Tieren umgehen, Massentierhaltung bis hin zu echter Tierfolter. DAS muss aufhören!

Kommentar verfassen

